.

Patch’s Poll: Should Illegal Immigrants Who Came Here as Children Face Deportation?

The Obama administration said it will stop deporting some illegal immigrants who came to the U.S. before they were 16 years old. What are your thoughts on this?

President Barack Obama announced last week that his administration will stop deporting illegal immigrants who came to the United States as children and who pose no security threat.

According to CNN, under the new policy, people under 30 who came to the United States before the age of 16, pose no criminal or security threat, and were successful students or served in the military can get a two-year deferral from deportation.

These youths will also have to prove they have been in the country for at least five years, the news network said.

Obama said his executive order would make immigration policy “more fair, more efficient and more just,” according to CNN.

"This is not amnesty. This is not immunity. This is not a path to citizenship. It's not a permanent fix," the president said.

The issue has sparked debate among news organizations, political pundits and ordinary citizens, as to whether this is a good move now.

On a local level, Connecticut saw a similar situation like this back in 2004, when a Norwich Free Academy graduate, Majan Jean, was facing deportation because she came to the U.S. illegally when she was 12, according to the Hartford Courant. She avoided being sent to her native Haiti because of legislation that was pending at the time in Congress.

We want to know what you think.

Do you think illegal immigrants, brought here as children and now under the age of 16, should face deportation? Regardless of their social standing in society? Take our poll and share your thoughts in the comments.

Karen Silva June 21, 2012 at 07:55 PM
People before you believe everything you hear remember that when politicians can successfully divide individuals on false issues then they can keep you busy debating it while the strategize on ruling and gaining power over other issues and titles that they don't want you to know about. I BEG everyone out there to dig deep and do your own research before jumping to conclusions. DO YOU REALLY KNOW FOR A FACT THAT MOST IMMIGRANTS ARE THE CAUSE FOR THE VIOLENCE AND LACK OF JOBS HERE. WAKE UP BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT THE POLITICIANS WANT YOU TO BELIEVE. THEY POINT THE FINGER AT SOMEONE, SOMETHING, OR SOME OTHER GROUP IN ORDER TO TAKE THE ATTENTION AWAY FROM THE REAL CAUSE(S) OF ANY GIVEN ISSUE--- W A K E UP!!!!!!!!! I LEAVE YOU WITH SOME FOOD FOR THOUGHT BELOW
Karen Silva June 21, 2012 at 07:58 PM
ACLU Immigration Myths and Facts Although incarceration rates are highest among young low-income men and many immigrants arriving in the U.S. are young men with low levels of education, incarceration rates among young men are invariably lower for immigrants than for their native-born counterparts http://www.aclu.org/immigrants-rights/immigration-myths-and-facts US Chamber of Commerce Our compilation shows that immigrants significantly benefit the U.S. economy by creating new jobs, and complementing the skills of the U.S. native workforce, with a net positive impact on wage rates overall. http://www.uschamber.com/reports/immigration-myths-and-facts It’s About Immigrants, Not Irishness It is a story that should describe all newcomers to America. This March 17, on this side of the water, we ought to be celebrating immigration, not just Irishness. Before the mass exodus from Ireland provoked by the great famine of the 1840s, new arrivals to North America were either settlers or slaves. The Catholic Gaelic Irish were the first cohort consistently labeled as “immigrants” in the modern, quasi-pejorative sense, and their experience established a stereotype, a template, applied ever since to whichever national or ethnic group happened to be the latest impoverished arrivals: French-Canadians, Chinese, Italians, Eastern Europeans, Hispanics. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/17/opinion/its-about-immigrants-not- irishnesss.html
Karen Silva June 21, 2012 at 07:58 PM
the problem is the divide and conquer technique that we as human beings keep falling for. the problem is that 7 billion of us people listen to some few politicians that make laws out of their behind. and we follow them. why? because they always turn us against each other w/ such things as borders, race, political ideology etc. its the oldest trick in the book. divide and conquer. why do we all listen to the politicians when neither of us like the way our country is run? or the way the world is run? all we lack is a clear vision. if every person in the http://www.abovetopsecret.com/about_abovetopsecret.php [AboveTopSecret.com is the Internet's largest and most popular discussion board community dedicated to the intelligent exchange of ideas and debate on a wide range of "alternative topics"world would realize the con of divide and conquer and] look at humans as humans. and unite! we could defeat the whole worlds political corrupt system and dismantle it. and never go back to it again! never go back to looking at mexicans as mexicans. look at them as human beings they have souls! they want the same thing we all want. so, basically, illigal immigration is not a problem. our divided views is the problem. a problem that is the root of all the world's problems! http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread561451/pg1
Karen Silva June 21, 2012 at 08:02 PM
Why would an illegal immigrant resort to violence all the while knowing that they risk deportation by making themselves visible through violence. Most immigrants try to hide their status because the last thing they want is to be deported SO TELL ME WHY AGAIN WOULD THEY RISK THEIR INVISIBILITY AND RESORT TO VIOLENCE?????????
Karen Silva June 21, 2012 at 08:05 PM
Sam I pray for your students
Martin Horsky June 22, 2012 at 12:28 AM
A president that's choosing which laws he'll enforce and which he'll ignore is not what the Founding Fathers had in mind when they created that office - that's my first problem with this president's dictatorial politics. Second - his amnesty for some illegal immigrants will encourage another explosion in illegal immigration. Third - the arguments that the nation somehow profits from taxes and cheap labor of illegals are false - the cost to the U.S. taxpayers of "social services" consumed by illegals is much higher than that. Finally, the U.S. economy does not grow from labor of low-skill workers - and in any case, has enough of its own. The only parties interested in importation of illegal workers are employers trying to avoid hiring Americans (illegals are expendable and don't talk back) and politicians looking for an easy-to-please voting bloc. When the federal and state governments start to deny to illegal aliens public benefits, they will self-deport. Majority of them has contempt for this country anyway.
Manny June 22, 2012 at 01:00 AM
My parents came here from India 45 years ago LEGALLY!! They have worked their ass off, raised a family and PAY TAXES. No amnesty for illegals: ILLEGAL ALIENS = CRIMINALS, don't overcomplicate this. Everyone deserves an opportunity, but go back to your country and GET IN LINE like the millions of others around the world who are going through the legal process of immigration.
Martin Horsky June 22, 2012 at 01:22 AM
Congratulations to your parents, Manny. I am legal immigrant and a grateful naturalized U.S. citizen myself.
Kate June 22, 2012 at 05:33 AM
Re: Sam Massy "Kate do you want every city to be like New Haven, Hartford, Bridgeport, Chicago, Detorit, LA, ect? Do you want ALL of America to be dangerous? There is a reason we have check points at the borders...this is not about not wanting to help anyone...it is about allowing unchecked humans to come here and the first law they break is their illegal entry...these cities did not become violent by themselves...Maybe you dont know what is happening in the schools...in those neighborhoods...but by God, you best start paying attention because it is not going away..." I go to college in West Hartford, and frequent Hartford during the school year. I can tell you that until you have spent a fair amount of time there, you don't know what it's actually like. I've found it to be quite cultured, and the people surprisingly friendly. And yes, there are high crime rates in those cities, but like Karen Silva said and has provided legitimate evidence for, it is not illegal immigrants who are causing the trouble, it is your beloved legal citizens. I am studying to become a teacher, and I might very well be placed in a school in one of the cities you have mentioned. I am fine with that. I want to HELP people, not keep them from their rights as HUMANS, here legally or not.
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:03 PM
ACLU Founder Roger Baldwin Roger Nash Baldwin (January 21, 1884 – August 26, 1981) was one of the founders of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). He served as executive director of the ACLU until 1950. Many of the ACLU's original landmark cases took place under his direction, including the Scopes Trial, the Sacco and Vanzetti murder trial, and its challenge to the ban on James Joyce's Ulysses. President Jimmy Carter awarded Baldwin the Medal of Freedom on 16 January 1981. [THE ACLU HAS BEEN AROUND FOR A LONG WHILE AND ACCOMPLISHED MANY THINGS. YOU CALL THIS GRANOLA? LOL] Susan N. Herman was elected President of the American Civil Liberties Union in October 2008 Herman received a B.A. from Barnard College as a philosophy major, and a J.D. from New York University School of Law, where she was a Note and Comment Editor on the N.Y.U. Law Review. Before entering teaching, Professor Herman was Pro Se Law Clerk for the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, and Staff Attorney and then Associate Director of Prisoners' Legal Services of New York. [Sam Massy you just bashed a fellow teacher-ONE THAT IS WITHOUT A DOUBT MORE HIGHLY DECORATED AND CELEBRATED THAN ?? I don't know maybe she has granola for breakfast lol]
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:04 PM
The ACLU is our nation's guardian of liberty, working daily in courts, legislatures and communities to defend and preserve the individual rights and liberties that the Constitution and laws of the United States guarantee everyone in this country. These rights include: Your First Amendment rights - freedom of speech, association and assembly; freedom of the press, and freedom of religion. Your right to equal protection under the law - protection against unlawful discrimination. Your right to due process - fair treatment by the government whenever the loss of your liberty or property is at stake. Your right to privacy - freedom from unwarranted government intrusion into your personal and private affairs. [are any of these granola things important to you??????} http://www.aclu.org/about-aclu-0
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:05 PM
Myth: Immigrants Drain our Social Services Fact: The Urban Institute has concluded that "immigrants actually generate significantly more in taxes paid than they cost in services." This is because undocumented workers, despite their ineligibility for most federal benefits, frequently have Social Security and income taxes withheld from their paychecks. In fact, immigrants pay substantially more in taxes every year than they receive in welfare benefits. [ MASSY HAVE YOU USED YOUR FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT RIGHT TO RESEARCH THE FINANCIAL DOCUMENTS OF SOCIAL SERVICES IN ORDER THE MAKE THE CLAIMS THAT YOU HAVE MADE?? I AM SURE THAT THE ACLU HAS--granola?????] http://www.aclu.org/immigrants-rights/rights-immigrants-aclu-position-paper
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:08 PM
The ACLU has evolved in the years since from this small group of idealists into the nation’s premier defender of the rights enshrined in the U.S. Constitution. With more than 500,000 members, nearly 200 staff attorneys, thousands of volunteer attorneys and offices throughout the nation, the ACLU of today continues to fight government abuse and to vigorously defend individual freedoms including speech and religion, a woman’s right to choose, the right to due process, citizens’ rights to privacy and much more. The ACLU stands up for these rights even when the cause is unpopular, and sometimes when nobody else will. While not always in agreement with us on every issue, Americans have come to count on the ACLU for its unyielding dedication to principle. The ACLU has become so ingrained in American society that it is hard to imagine an America without it. One of the ACLU’s earliest battles was the Scopes Trial of 1925. When the state of Tennessee passed a law banning the teaching of evolution, the ACLU recruited biology teacher John T. Scopes to challenge the law by teaching the banned subject in his class. When Scopes was eventually prosecuted, the ACLU partnered with celebrated attorney Clarence Darrow to defend him. Although Scopes was found guilty (the verdict was later overturned because of a sentencing error), the trial made national headlines and helped persuade the public on the importance of academic freedom. http://www.aclu.org/aclu-history
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:08 PM
In 1954, the ACLU joined forces with the NAACP to challenge racial segregation in public schools. The resulting Supreme Court decision in Brown v. Board of Education that ended the era of “separate but equal” was a major victory for racial justice. [SHOULD THE SCHOOLS STILL BE SEGREGATED OR IS IT A GOOD THING THAT GRANOLA STEPPED IN????? ARE BLACKS LESS HUMAN THAN YOU, THEY DO ACCOUNT FOR A HIGHER CRIME RATE THAN WHITES OVERALL HMMM LET ME SEE HOW MANY YEARS WERE THEY BEATEN, ENSLAVED, DEPRIVED OF EDUCATION, AND BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS?? IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THEY HAVE PTSD?? IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THEY NEED MORE COUNSELING AS A RESULT OF ALL OF THEIR OPPRESSION, SUPPRESSTION ETC????? HOW WOULD YOUR PERSONALTY HOLD UP UNDER THOSE CONDITIONS]
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:08 PM
After the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, President Franklin Roosevelt ordered all people of Japanese descent, most of whom were American citizens, be sent to “war relocation camps.” Eventually more than more than 110,000 Japanese Americans were sent to these internment camps. The ACLU, led by its California affiliates, stood alone in speaking out about this atrocity. [LET'S SEE ARE THE JAPANESE ATTACKING US TODAY, ARE THEY A THREAT, ARE ALL OF THEM ON WELLFARE????] http://www.aclu.org/aclu-history You are a teacher and you do not support basic human rights for all human beings??!!!!!!!! So tell me do you get to choose which human beings you will teach. Of course you do because you can choose to help those students in your class who you favor because they deserve to be taught more than the child laborer does that came from India, Africa, Mexico etc whose parents flee to give them a better life. Many of their parents are barely educated themselves and you expect that they will automatically know exactly how to become legal and overcome all of their fears that their home countries' governments instilled in them through oppresstion and lack of basic rights. I wonder what you teach in your class??? I hope that you do not ever need to solicit the help of the ACLU; oh I forgot you will never need that help because you are one of the supreme humans who does everything right and therefore everything will just fall into place for you right?]
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:09 PM
The U.S. Chamber of Commerce is the world’s largest business organization representing the interests of more than 3 million businesses of all sizes, sectors, and regions. Our members range from mom-and-pop shops and local chambers to leading industry associations and large corporations. They all share one thing in common—they count on the Chamber to be their voice in Washington, D.C http://www.uschamber.com/about [Granola???? I hope that you never need to be helped by their granola and if you do I hope they don't see all of your posts]
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:11 PM
Thomas J. DonohuePresident and CEO Born in New York City in 1938, Donohue earned a bachelor’s degree from St. John’s University and a master’s degree in business administration from Adelphi University. He holds honorary doctorate degrees from Adelphi, St. John’s, and Marymount universities. Donohue and his wife, Liz, live in Potomac, Maryland. They have three sons and five grandchildren. David C. Chavern - Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Chavern holds an M.B.A. from Georgetown University (valedictorian) and is a graduate of the Villanova University School of Law (Order of the Coif) and the University of Pittsburgh (University Scholar). Chavern resides with his wife and two children in Falls Church, Virginia. He is a member of the board of directors of AEGON U.S. Holding Corporation, the U.S. arm of the international life insurance, pension, and investment group. He is also on the President’s Advisory Committee for Trade Policy & Negotiations and the board of the Falls Church Education Foundation.
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:11 PM
Chamber of Commerce R. Bruce Josten - Executive Vice President, Government Affairs Josten has been recognized by Roll Call, the newspaper of Capitol Hill, as one of "The Politics Fabulous Fifty"—one of the 50 most influential Washingtonians in electing congressional candidates.He also serves on the Dean's Advisory Committee of Public Affairs for The George Washington University Graduate School of Political Management and is a board member of the United States Capitol Historical Society.
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:12 PM
Can someone please let me know what granola means because I thought it was something that a lot of human beings eat for breakfast or with yogurt or something
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:13 PM
let us all go in PEACE to LOVE and SERVE each other; each one of us HUMAN BEINGS
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 03:49 PM
Peace is not the product of a victory or a command. It has no finishing line, no final deadline, no fixed definition of achievement. Peace is a never-ending process, the work of many decisions.
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 04:08 PM
Amen Darrell
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 04:15 PM
imagine that this granola organization faught for your right to learn evolution theory in class. without rights like Academic Freedom where do you think we would be???
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 04:20 PM
let us also not forget that African Americans are unfairly targeted by law enforcement many times more often even today
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 05:07 PM
The Taliban pounded on the door just before midnight, demanding that Aisha, 18, be punished for running away from her husband's house. They dragged her to a mountain clearing near her village in the southern Afghan province of Uruzgan, ignoring her protests that her in-laws had been abusive, that she had no choice but to escape. Shivering in the cold air and blinded by the flashlights trained on her by her husband's family, she faced her spouse and accuser. Her in-laws treated her like a slave, Aisha pleaded. They beat her. If she hadn't run away, she would have died. Her judge, a local Taliban commander, was unmoved. Later, he would tell Aisha's uncle that she had to be made an example of lest other girls in the village try to do the same thing. The commander gave his verdict, and men moved in to deliver the punishment. Aisha's brother-in-law held her down while her husband pulled out a knife. First he sliced off her ears. Then he started on her nose. Aisha passed out from the pain but awoke soon after, choking on her own blood. The men had left her on the mountainside to die. Read more: http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2007407,00.html#ixzz1yXhTx0bS CONT BELOW
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 05:08 PM
Nearly two years after arriving in America with the promise of a new nose and ears, Aesha Mohammadzai has finally begun the process of reconstructive surgery. http://www.cnn.com/2012/06/22/us/aesha-update-surgery-begins/index.html?hpt=hp_c1 if she came over the boarder to America on her own and did not get legal papers because of her fear of governments, WOULD YOU DEPORT HER?? IS SHE CONSIDERED A CRIMINAL AT THAT POINT...........?? HOW WOULD YOU WANT TO BE TREATED
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 10:59 PM
Mr. Massy I am NOT a kid and how dare you think you know me and sum me up in two seconds; do you even know how old I am what I do for a living; YOU HAVE NO CLUE WHO I AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All you want to do is attack who you think I am instead of focusing on the real issues here. AND THAT MAKES IT OBVIOUS WHAT A CRUMMY TEACHER YOU ARE!!!!!! I have provided you with legitimate references to back up my statements--WHAT ABOUT YOU??? It looks like you are way to closed minded to change your beliefs or even have a valid debate about yours; Mother Theresa was idealistic and so was Gandhi and I can go on and on with more examples of beautiful people like them; I choose to align myself with their beliefs about human beings and I can only pray for your soul --have a nice life
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 11:08 PM
Keep talking Mr. Massy because you make your positions crystal clear and it is very educating for all of us. Thank God for open forums so that people like you can be exposed.
Karen Silva June 22, 2012 at 11:12 PM
Mr. Massy one last word you are a bully
Kate June 24, 2012 at 03:59 AM
I agree with Karen; you are a bully Massy. How dare you try to tell me that I don't know what's going on in this world? I may be young, but that doesn't mean that I can't have hope. So stop trying to crush it. You have no right to do that to me. I already spend enough nights crying because of people like you who are tearing our world apart. People like you make everything into a black and white/right or wrong issue, and life isn't supposed to be like that. You may be older than me in years, but you sure are lacking wisdom, and especially lacking in compassion for other human beings.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something